Combo Tap/Jazz Ages 5-7


This class is taught by:

Sierra Tanji

Sierra is one of our own and began dancing at South Coast Performing Arts at the sweet age of 6! Sierra was a stand out student who is, even now, devoted to her craft. If you had the pleasure of watching Sierra perform, then you know how excited we are to have her join our SCPA family. Sierra was accepted to AMDA (The American Musical and Dramatic Academy) and after graduating high school, Sierra began her first year at AMDA, which is a college conservatory for the performing arts in Los Angeles. While at AMDA, Sierra soon discovered that she was not a complete fit with this College and her passionate, spirited heart pulled her toward being a dance educator.
Sierra discovered she loves being with kids and especially teaching dance to kids and young adults. Rather than waste time, Sierra shifted gears immediately and jumped into the world of Dance Education. Being that Sierra is an inspiring and motivated person, we are thrilled that she has also accepted the position of Co-Director of our Performing Group Program here at SCPA. In addition to joining SCPA's faculty, Sierra will be pursuing a Bachelor's degree in Kinesiology, so that she can expand her range of expertise in physiological, mechanical and psychological mechanisms as related to movement. Helping others is what she loves to do and helping dancers with injuries and technique is a big part of that. Sierra is passionate, loving, fun, patient, and super excited for her future with SCPA!

Valerie Barrow

Valerie has been dancing since she could walk. She has had 20+ years of training in Tap, Jazz and Classical Ballet through the Westminster performing arts center, Bethel Ballet Academy and The Metropolitan ballet Company. She has also had 10+ years of training in Hula and Polynesian through her Halau, Hula O Napualani. Her performances include: Luaus, Recitals, O.C. Fair shows, Special Events, and The Nutcracker Ballet. Valerie has been teaching dance for ten years. She became an assistant teacher at age 12 and has been teaching + choreographing her own classes since she was only 14. She is currently sharing her passion and love for dance through performing in shows, teaching ballet and hula at birthday parties, and teaching + choreographing at South Coast Performing Arts.

Upcoming classes:

  • Wed Dec 12 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Dec 18 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Dec 19 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Jan 08 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Jan 09 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Jan 15 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Jan 16 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Jan 22 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Jan 23 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Jan 29 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Jan 30 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Feb 05 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Feb 06 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Feb 12 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow
  • Wed Feb 13 4:30 pm - 5:30 pm with Sierra Tanji
  • Tue Feb 19 6:00 pm - 7:00 pm with Valerie Barrow